Sutton Massachusetts

Sutton Representative Information

Massachusetts has a legislature made up of senators and representatives. Both are elected to two-year terms in even numbered years and begin their new term in the beginning of odd numbered years.

State Senator
Massachusetts is broken up into large senatorial districts for our state government. There are forty in total, and they serve two-year terms.

Sutton falls into the "Worcester and Norfolk" district which includes - Bellingham, Blackstone, Douglas, Dudley, Hopedale, Mendon, Milford, Millville, Northbridge, Oxford, Southbridge, Sutton, Uxbridge, and Webster. We all share one senator.

Worcester Norfolk district
Worcester Norfolk District as of 2010

Our state senator for the Worcester / Norfolk District is -
Senator Ryan Fattman (R)
Rep Fattman was considered a young underdog when he took on eight-year incumbent Callahan in 2010 for representative - and he won in every town. He began his first term in spring 2011. After two terms he went for and won the Senator position. He lives in Webster.

State Representatives
Representatives speak for small groups of towns in Massachusetts. There are 160 reps in total (for 351 cities and towns) and they serve for 2 year terms. Sutton is broken in half! It's really annoying. One half falls into the "18th Worcester" district which includes Bellingham, Blackstone, Millville, Sutton (precincts 1 and 2), and Uxbridge (precincts 1, 2, 4).

18th worcester district
18th Worcester District as of 2010

The other half falls into the "7th Worcester" which includes Auburn, Millbury, Oxford (precincts 1 and 3) and Sutton (precinct 3).

According to the Census site, the dividing lines for the sections are Route 146 and Central Turnpike. Everything east of 146 is one section (precinct 3). On the west of 146 side, the two sections are the area north of Central Turnpike (precinct 1) and the area south of Central Turnpike (precinct 2).

PDF of Sutton divisions based on 2000 census

However, according to which apparently is what Sutton uses, there is only a tiny wedge of Sutton in the northeast that goes to precinct 3. That is the map shown below. The district maps are maintained actively at the Massachusetts Legislature Website.

Precinct One and Two
Representative Joseph D. McKenna (R)
Joseph was voted in on his first try in 2014. Before that, for three years he had been Chief of Staff to State Representative Peter Durant of Spencer.

Precinct Three
Representative Paul K. Frost (R)
Rep Frost was first elected in 1996. He only represents the small top northeast corner of Sutton. Frost won reelection in 2004, 2006, 2008, up through now.

Where To Vote
To find where to vote, visit the Voting Locator Page. In past years, locations have been -
the old high school gym (Precincts 1 and 3)
the Manchaug Library (Precinct 2)

Bill Voting History for Sutton Representatives and Senator

Worcester County Sheriff
One of the only remnants we still have of our county based system is the Sheriff position. Think about the Sheriff of Nottingham :) No, I tease. For a long while we had Guy Glodis (D) but in 2010 he chose to move on and we voted in Lewis Evangelidis (R).

Sutton MA Election History
Main Page on Sutton Massachusetts Reps and Senators

About Sutton Massachusetts
Sutton Massachusetts Tax Rates
Sutton Census Population and Density
Sutton Phone and Postal Information
Sutton State and Federal Representatives / Senators
Sutton Massachusetts Location and Maps